Skip to content

what to do with an inordinate amount of tomatoes

July 23, 2010

My mom and I have a fairly unique/ unorthodox relationship. And when I say that, I mean it in the sense that I do all the dinner cooking, apron wearing and Martha Stewart watching, while she eats popsicles for lunch and has facebook mobile on her blackberry (I say this in the most loving of ways, of course haha). But anyway, she gets really excited when I come home for the summer because it means that I cook her dinner all the time, and I guess because she doesn’t really cook, she’s very easily impressed. Soooo when I had a large quantity of tomatoes from our back yard and an eggplant from the farmer’s market that needed to be used up, I just put them in the oven for a little bit and then mixed them in with some pasta and cheese, and my mom was BLOWN. THE HELL. AWAY. I think it might just be attributed to how local and fresh everything was (I am a bit biased, I always think my tomatoes taste better than any others), but to be honest, this was really good.

Tomato Eggplant Mozzarella Pasta

(about 2 servings)

3-4 cups cherry tomatoes

1/2 medium sized eggplant

1/2 red onion

1 cup white beans

2 cups whole wheat pasta

about 2 oz. mozzarella cheese

1 Tbsp. Garlic and Rosemary Olive Oil

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 450. Cut up eggplant into about 1 in. square cubes and thinly slice onion. Toss together with cherry tomatoes in olive oil and salt and pepper. Pour onto a rimmed baking sheet and bake for about 30 minutes (after about 15, mix in the beans and stir vegetables). Cut up cheese into small cubes. When vegetables are done, toss together with pasta and cheese. Yum!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

