Skip to content

don’t even try to tell me I’m not the best friend ever

August 3, 2010

Last weekend one of my friends wanted to have a barbeque in her backyard and invite all our friends. Sounds fun, chill, even easy, right? “Only…. wait. I’m a vegetarian. Hey meat eating brother – wanna grill things for me? And oh yeah, I don’t really bake. Hey best friend – wanna make some desserts and side dishes and dips and things for me?” Yes, yes, of course I will. (p.s. I’m the best friend, not the meat eating brother) I mean, who am I kidding? I love being the one people come to for this sort of thing.

Garlic Eggplant Hummus

about 2 cups eggplant chopped into 1 in. cubes

1/2 red pepper chopped into 1 in. pieces

1/4 red onion chopped into 1 in. pieces

1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

1 Tbsp. Tahini

1 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp Tavern on the Green Garlic With Rosemary Olive Oil

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400°. Toss chopped vegetables with olive oil and roast in oven until soft (about 20-30 minutes). Once vegetables are cool, combine with all the other ingredients and pour into a blender. Mix on high until smooth (add some water in if you think it’s too thick).

Lemon Hummus

1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

juice and zest of 1 lemon

1 Tbsp tahini

1 Tbsp Tavern on the Green Pepper with Lemon Olive Oil

1 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp tyme

salt and pepper to taste

Same deal. Dump all of those things into a blender mix on high until you reach your desired consistency. Easy!

Roasted Tomato Salsa (kinda based on this, but also… kinda not really)

about 4 cups grape or plum tomatoes, whatever you have, red and yellow, or whatever you have, chopped  into 1 in. pieces

I medium white onion, chopped into about 1 in. pieces

2 garlic cloves, unpeeled

salt to taste

Preheat broiler. Place all ingredients on a rimmed baking sheet and bake until lightly charred (about 10 minutes). Allow to cool. Peel garlic and place all ingredients in blender. Pulse until evenly chopped. When I did this, I thought it was way too watery – so then I put it through a strainer to get some of the liquid out, but you can skip this if you want.

seriously the most amazing chocolate cookies ever

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

