Skip to content

oh yeah, and then I baked this peach cobbler…

August 5, 2010

Included in the exciting barbeque fare of last weekend was this peach cobbler I threw together. And when I say threw together, I don’t mean it in the way a girl says “oh this outfit? Just something I threw together!” when she actually spent days dissecting the difference between a plain white tee from Urban Outfitters and a v neck from American Apparel (HUGE, let me tell you…). No, I mean this in the sense that I was like “hey, I need a dessert quick, I haven’t gone food shopping in a while, and oh look! a pile of almost overripe peaches!” I feel like this dessert was a bit of a lame milestone for me because it’s the first time I’ve baked something without a real base recipe (does that make me sound like a looser? probably). I mean, when I cook, I never use recipes – I just throw things that I like together in a pot. But baking is intimidating because it’s more of a science and I don’t know about you, but I failed AP Physics. And you know what? This actually wasn’t a total fail (I mean, it was gone by the end of the party, what more can I say?) but if you’re going to make this, there are a couple of adjustments I would suggest:

– either increase the amount of peaches or decrease the amount of cobbler topping. Who knew biscuits grew that much in the oven? I didn’t… obviously.

– use a deeper dish – I believe the one I used was 13 x 9 and it definitely should have been 11 x 7 or even 8 x 8, the ratio of peach to cobbler was way off

– actually go out and buy buttermilk – like I said, I threw this together, and all the biscuit or cobbler recipes I saw called for buttermilk, which I clearly don’t have lying around, so I researched substitutes and found that going half milk half plain yogurt is supposed to work, and it tasted fine, but I just have a feeling that authentic buttermilk would be better, especially because it was 1% milk and fat free yogurt, and let’s be honest… fat is what makes desserts delicious

so without further a due, here is the somewhat failed…

Peach Cobbler

filling ingredients:

6 peaches, pits removed and sliced into eights

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

2 Tbsp. flour

1 Tbsp. amaretto

juice and zest of 1/2 lemon

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

pinch of nutmeg

1/4 tsp. salt

topping ingredients:

1 1/2 cup flour

4 1/2 Tbsp. sugar

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

4 1/2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, cold, cut into cubes

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup plain yogurt

Preheat oven to 350°. Mix together all of the filling ingredients and pour into your baking dish. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. With a pastry cutter, cut in butter until the size of peas. Whisk together yogurt and milk and pour into flour mixture. Stir until dough forms. Spoon onto peach filling in six mounds and sprinkle tops with sugar. Bake 30-45 minutes, until tops are golden brown.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 12:17 am

    I’m not a baker but I love the tongue and cheek way you motivate me to want to try my hand at making this. I love your writing style and I was drawn into your discription as much as trying my hand at making this. It looks FABULOUS

    Lou

Leave a Reply

