Skip to content

liberal granola

August 10, 2010

Sometimes I think to myself, ‘Ya know, I really don’t get made fun of enough for being a vegetarian and going to art school and having ridiculously long hair and having a strange infatuation with Janis Joplin. I should really seal the deal with something like making my own granola from scratch.’ But I hear that granola is totally socially acceptable these days, and perhaps even embraced by all different walks of life – so I strongly encourage you to make this, because it is in fact delicious. And so much better for you and cheaper than that stuff they sell at the grocery store. People tend to think granola is a health food by default, which is really not true at all. Most granolas that you buy at the store have so much sugar and fat in them that you might as well be buying Coco Puffs. I will tell you right now, I am extremely particular about the food I buy. If it comes in a package, you should probably think twice before eating it. So after a lifetime of scrutinizing nutritional labels on cereal boxes, I finally said ‘duh! why don’t I just make this myself’ (okay, sorry, ending rant. no offense to anyone who does like coco puffs). But besides any of that, the cool thing about making your own anything is that you can change it up to suit your preferences. Some of these pictures are from the first time I made this granola with almonds, some of them I made with pistachios. You can use whatever you want. (hooray diversity!)

Granola However You Want It!

3 cups old fashioned oats

1/2 cup sliced almonds (or any other type of raw nut)

3 Tbsp ground flax

1/2 cup shredded coconut (if you can find unsweetened, use that, and increase the maple syrup to your taste, but I usually can’t so this is done with sweetened)

1 tsp cinnamon

4 1/2 Tbsp egg whites

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup maple syrup (or honey or agave)

2 Tbsp Tavern on the Green Meyer Lemon Olive Oil

1/2 cup raisins (or any other dried fruit)

Preheat oven to 350°. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, nuts, flax, and cinnamon. In another bowl, whisk together the egg whites, salt, maple syrup and olive oil. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and mix well. Spread mixture out on a rimmed baking sheet and bake in the oven for about 30 min or until toasted and golden brown. About 15 min in, stir the granola a bit and add the coconut. After cooled, mix in the dried fruit and store in an airtight container.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 2:09 pm

    This I will definatly make. I love to add Trader Joe dried Orange Cranberries. Now the have a mixed dried fruit that is good. You can get the unsweetened Coconut at Whole Foods and Fairway. Roasted pine nuts, Cashews, Put 2 table spoons of Salba (ground up Chia seed) into mix. It has no flavor but huge amoounts of fiber and Omega 3’s. More than Fish.
    Love it
    Lou

  2. October 29, 2010 3:54 am

    I was wondering about what I could use in place of the egg whites- My husband and I are vegan and my vegetarian kiddos won’t eat eggs….

    I was thinking maybe ground flax seeds with warm water? ? ?

Leave a Reply

